Posted by: Susan Gaddis | August 13, 2009

Tea and Time

Rilian Weber

Rilian Weber

I call it Tea and Time. Not tea time, but Tea and Time. Some days the most important item on my agenda is to take a granddaughter to tea.

Yesterday, Rilian and I headed to Cambria for our yearly English Tea and Time luncheon. Such an adventure takes time—lots of it. I do a lot of listening and learning on these trips:

  • Driving to Cambria I learn what she will be doing this weekend with her cousins.
  • Finding The Tea Cozy nestled in the old village includes a conversation on Victorian houses.
  • Deciding what dainties to have with tea involves a long description of menu items.
  • Ordering tea means at least ten minutes of indecision.

Window shopping is a must after tea. Of course a conversation about window shopping includes such questions as:

  • Does one stand outside and gaze through a window only?
  • Does one enter the shop?
  • Does one spend money?

On the drive home, Rilian informs me that:

  • She has saved over $60.00 for an orphanage in need of baby clothes.
  • She is confident that her mother can make a lavender cake like the one she enjoyed at The Tea Cozy.
  • Her little brother, Korbin, drives her crazy sometimes.

I am a spiritual person. I have spiritual disciplines. Tea and Time is one important spiritual practice because it is part of the legacy I leave for my granddaughters. What legacy are you passing down to your children and grandchildren?


Leave a comment

Categories